Kaspersky Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaspersky Security for Mac

Kaspersky Security for Mac

Kaspersky Security for Mac

Kaspersky Security for Mac ensures you and your children are always safe with enhanced, real-time protection from viruses, phishing attempts, dangerous websites and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.199 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (166 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
15
1 star
11
135 out of 166(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Review 1 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1
Protection: 
1 out of 5
1
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Nothappy1
Location:Kansas City, KS
Time Used:Less than 1 Month
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Slow to work

Date:June 10, 2013
Pros: User interface
Cons: Scan speed, Spam protection
I installed this on my MacBook it makes my strokes very slow. Not good at all. I'm extremely unhappy.
The virus scan lasted for over 5 hours and was still running. I hardly have anything on my laptop because it's new. I don't understand why it should take so long. I ended up closing it out and didn't finish running the scan. It never found anything wrong which is good.
Review 2 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
White Dragon
Location:Manassas, VA
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Awesome Product for Mac & PC

Date:May 6, 2013
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
I have used Kaspersky for both my Mac and the PC's in our home it has taken control every time and fix issues automatically, whether it is a hard-drive issues or viruses and malware to spoofers it has always done my family right,
Review 3 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4
Anonymous
Location:Newark, CA
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Support

Date:May 4, 2013
Pros: Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
Cons: Installation
I love this product. It's easy to install and easy to use. This year I had to contact tech support because I have OSX 10.5 on my macbook. The new activation key did not work. I was given a new activation key to work with my OS system. The only drawback - I had to wait several days for my final answer. The best part - tech support kept following up until my problem was solved. thanks!
Review 4 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
avissugar
Location:New York, NY
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Not the problem people reported

Date:April 24, 2013
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
This is my third year using Kaspersky. I had it on my PC and now I have a MAC and using this Security application for my computer is great. I had read where people said that it slowed down there computer and had trouble getting into some applications. Not so, with me. It is easy to download and it has not affected my computer at all. I can get into my programs at the same speed that I had before. I feel protected. I am glad that I renewed this. Last year I only had the Anti Virus Protection but this year I have the Kaspersky Security for Mac and I like it. Only thing that I found that I don't like is my computer has a desktop for a guest. And I wanted to apply parental controls for the guest desktop but it won't allow me to separate the two. I like that it has password protection when you are typing your passwords. That is great.
Review 5 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Denis K
Location:Franklin, WI
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

Set it and forget it. Works great.

Date:April 22, 2013
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
I'm into my second year using this anti-virus software on my iMac, and it has been trouble-free from the day I installed it. I like the frequent, automatic updates, and I feel that I am getting the best protection available. I'm a former Norton Anti-virus software user, and Kaspersky is more user-friendly and effective.
Review 6 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4
barney&bailey
Location:Irvine, CA
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Tech Savvy

Effective and unobtrusive

Date:March 30, 2013
Pros: System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
Unlike many anti-virus products, Kaspersky Security does not slow my system down. It works unobtrusively in the background. Of course, Macs do not get a lot of virus attacks, so sometimes one wonders if it is working. You'll find out quickly that it is if you plug in a memory stick from a friend that is infected. When this happened to me, Kaspersky immediately detected the virus, alerted me, and removed it.
Review 7 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Salo
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Tech Savvy
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

The best protection for Mac

Date:January 15, 2013
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Rescue disk, Virus detection, User interface, Parental controls
I totally recommend Kaspersky Security for Mac. It has a great looking UI, it is easy to use, file scans are as easy as click and drag. It is always downloading the latest virus definitions and databases.
Review 8 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Anonymous
Location:South Hamilton, MA
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Better than before

Date:January 15, 2013
Pros: System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
Cons: Installation
Kaspersky's 2013 Security Protection software is even better than previous versions. It's seamless, in that it downloads the latest updates without interfering with what you are working on. Suddenly, a message pops up that says "Your computer is now up to date in virus protection." So far Kaspersky has found infiltrating viruses and neutralized them without any hassles. The consensuses is that Kaspersky virus protection is better than other brands. I don't know if that is completely true or not, but I do believe that the program is just as good, and I feel confident that my computer and my wife's computer are well protected.
Review 9 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3
Protection: 
3 out of 5
3
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3
Irish173
Location:Toronto, On
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

Protection Slows system down

Date:January 11, 2013
Pros: Value for cost, Rescue disk, Virus detection, User interface
Cons: Scan speed
it continually displays an error loading message every time the laptop is turned on. It prevents access to such common domains as hotmail unless you type in a saved access URL. It is cumbersome to have to identify URLs that we can access and this is without the parental blocker on. I tried this for the first time on my Mac Pro even though I believe it wasn't necessary (partner wanted it) and now I use it selectively or infrequently. Still not convinced it was worth the investment. That said I have had Kaspersky products on my PC and still believe their product is one of the best for that platform. Just harder to convince ref the Mac.
Review 10 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1
Protection: 
1 out of 5
1
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1
Ease of Use: 
1 out of 5
1
rafapercall
Location:Florida
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Newbie
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

internet goes very slow

Date:January 9, 2013
Pros: Virus detection
Cons: Price, Scan speed, Spam protection, Installation
in my opinion, kaspersky antivirus install on windows systems is the best antivirus pc protection in market, but kaspersky mac is a not good option, your mac seems working slow, your internet navigation goes very slow, to many alerts on screen, in general,, mac system dont need antivirus for now.
Review 11 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Fritzy
Location:Laurel,MD
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Excellent Program

Date:January 4, 2013
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface, Parental controls
Cons: Price
Ive tried several different protections and still managed to get virus's and etc. With Kaspersky security for mac Ive had only one small issue and it was caught fast and taken care of in seconds.Its very user friendly and renewal is very easy. Customer support could use some more trainning especially concerning renewals. I was told if you renew early you loose your old exp.date this is not true. I downloaded the mac security on my imac put in the code to activate and Kaspersky kept my old experation date and auto updated the new expiration when the old expired. I highly recommend this program for mac users.Im going on my second year and this time I took out the two year protection thats how happy I am with this program. Love the key board feature that lets you type in your password for extra security.
Review 12 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1
Ease of Use: 
1 out of 5
1
MAC-USER
Location:Florida
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User

Kaspersky for Mac

Date:December 31, 2012
Pros: User interface
Cons: Scan speed, Installation
I have used Kaspersky for Windows (workstations and servers) and it is a great product, however, when it comes to Mac, it just locked my laptop and every query or opening attached (safe) pictures on the Internet never opened. I ended up deactivating it to be able to reuse my laptop. It might be my settings, but I've got tired of waiting 15 minutes to be able to do anything with my laptop...
Review 13 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Eileen
Location:Merchantville, NJ
Time Used:1-12 Months
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Slow internet

Date:December 30, 2012
Pros: Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
When I first installed Kaspersky on my mac book, the internet was S L O W!! I emailed the company, received a response quickly and they solved my problem!! Now it's smooth sailing!!
Review 14 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2
Protection: 
3 out of 5
3
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Tintin1947
Location:New Albany, IN
Time Used:Less than 1 Month
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Slowed Facebook to a crawl.

Date:December 30, 2012
Pros: User interface
I uninstalled Kaspersky because it slowed Facebook response to almost nil. It didn't seem to affect the speed of other applications.
Review 15 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
William
Location:San Diego
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Tech Savvy
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

Works better on the PC than on MAC

Date:December 25, 2012
Pros: Feature set, Value for cost, Rescue disk, Virus detection, User interface
Cons: Installation
I love this product, but I found it causes OSX Mountain Lion to go into kernel panic when doing heavy video or audio processing. Find I have to exit the program when doing that kind of work.
Review 16 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
TashaYar
Location:Mattapoisett, MA
Time Used:1-12 Months
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

great Mac protection

Date:December 22, 2012
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Virus detection, User interface
After my husband saw the on-screen keyboard for entering passwords, he decided to buy Kaspersky to replace the virus protection software he currently owns.
Review 17 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Zargon2012
Location:Québec
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Tech Savvy
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

The best

Date:December 15, 2012
Pros: System performance, Virus detection, User interface, Parental controls
Cons: Price
Excellent software after 15 years
Review 18 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1
Protection: 
1 out of 5
1
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4
Mac4Life
Location:Denver CO
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

Not good for MAC

Date:December 8, 2012
I used this product for a year or 2 before upgrading my MAC to Mountain Lion. Now Kaspersky and ML don't work together. My internet keeps locking up when Kaspersky is turned on. Once I turn it off , internet works awesome. as of 12-8-12 wont work with ML.
Review 19 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3
Protection: 
4 out of 5
4
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4
celsmk
Location:São Paulo, SP - Brazil
Time Used:1-12 Months
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

Kind of neat

Date:December 3, 2012
Pros: Value for cost, User interface
Cons: Scan speed
It gives relief of being protected, but although it is seamless most of the time, it can be a CPU hog. Had a couple of hang in my OSX Lion.
Review 20 for Kaspersky Security for Mac
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2
Protection: 
3 out of 5
3
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2
Ease of Use: 
2 out of 5
2
nostarfish
Location:Reno, Nv.
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Updated, Updated, Updated, Updated, Updated

Date:December 1, 2012
Cons: Price, Installation
All my Kaspersky seems to do is tell me it's Updated, Updated, Updated, Updated, Updated, Updated, Updated, Updated, Updated; blah, blah, blah. Can't update, can't update, can't update, can't update, can't update, can't update. Blah, blah, blah.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next»