Kaspersky Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac

Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac

Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac

Advanced anti-virus protection for your Mac. Stops malware before it can be passed from your Mac onto PCs and other systems on your network. Small, frequent updates. Outstanding performance. And a familiar Mac-like interface.
Average Customer Rating:
4.199 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (166 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
15
1 star
11
135 out of 166(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
Review 1 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Mou1
Location:Kentucky
Time Used:1-12 Months
Computer Experience:Tech Savvy
Operating System:Mac OS X

A winner!

Date:July 25, 2010
Pros: Rescue disk, Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface, Parental controls
I have tried a few of the antivirus programs for Macs, and they've all been intrusive and clunky; the protection they offered wasn't worth the hassle of dealing with them. I realize Macs don't face as many threats as Windows computers, but their popularity is growing and therefore so is the danger. I just don't feel comfortable going it alone. Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac runs silent and deep; it keeps my machine safe without slowing me down. I heartily recommend it!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Khirae
Time Used:1-12 Months
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X

Protect your mac

Date:May 25, 2010
Pros: Rescue disk, Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface, Parental controls
Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac works great! It's easy to use and it catches even the smallest bugs, keeping your computer virus-free. :D
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
J-Y
Location:Montréal, QC
Time Used:1-12 Months
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Bulletproof protection

Date:April 6, 2012
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
Was a PC user for many years and recently used Kaspersky Pure which was a great product. Unfortunately, there is no MAC version so I installed Kaspersky Anti-Virus for MAC about a month ago when I bought a brand new MAC. (by the way, Kaspersky paid me back the rest of my subscription on the Pure program and I used it to buy their AV for mac's !) Tks Kaspersky ! So, the AV for mac's is really excellent. I got it on maximum protection and no slow down at all. It detected twice Trojans and popped up a warning with either 'delete' or 'quarantine'. I was never infected. Happy to have this protection as there seems to be more attacks on mac's these days. Highly recommended program.
Review 4 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Studentmom
Location:Hill City, KS
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Windows 7
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

Easy to use

Date:December 28, 2011
Pros: System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
Have used this product for years and have always found it easy to install and use. It is a relief not to worry about my system, knowing that it is protected online.
Review 5 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
ArtC
Location:Austin, TX
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Windows 7
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Complete protection for your PC

Date:December 18, 2011
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Rescue disk, Virus detection, User interface, Parental controls
Cons: Price
Best Product on the Market for Both mac & PC
Review 6 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4
tightwad
Location:Greer SC
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac

Date:December 14, 2011
Pros: System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection
I have used Kaspersky before - on a PC. Now with Apple, I am uneasy about the pronouncements about MAC safety. For just a little money, I have peace of mind. The installation is easy, and the program allows reasonable customization. The interface is a little unusual, but I got used to it. Still have to pass the cursor over the "keys" to see what they do. I guess this makes it easier to employ in different languages. In short, no problems with viruses, works quickly, and I am satisfied - again. No "cons" ....
Review 7 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1
Protection: 
1 out of 5
1
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Nothappy1
Location:Kansas City, KS
Time Used:Less than 1 Month
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Slow to work

Date:June 10, 2013
Pros: User interface
Cons: Scan speed, Spam protection
I installed this on my MacBook it makes my strokes very slow. Not good at all. I'm extremely unhappy.
The virus scan lasted for over 5 hours and was still running. I hardly have anything on my laptop because it's new. I don't understand why it should take so long. I ended up closing it out and didn't finish running the scan. It never found anything wrong which is good.
Review 8 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
White Dragon
Location:Manassas, VA
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Awesome Product for Mac & PC

Date:May 6, 2013
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
I have used Kaspersky for both my Mac and the PC's in our home it has taken control every time and fix issues automatically, whether it is a hard-drive issues or viruses and malware to spoofers it has always done my family right,
Review 9 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4
Anonymous
Location:Newark, CA
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Support

Date:May 4, 2013
Pros: Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
Cons: Installation
I love this product. It's easy to install and easy to use. This year I had to contact tech support because I have OSX 10.5 on my macbook. The new activation key did not work. I was given a new activation key to work with my OS system. The only drawback - I had to wait several days for my final answer. The best part - tech support kept following up until my problem was solved. thanks!
Review 10 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
avissugar
Location:New York, NY
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Not the problem people reported

Date:April 24, 2013
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
This is my third year using Kaspersky. I had it on my PC and now I have a MAC and using this Security application for my computer is great. I had read where people said that it slowed down there computer and had trouble getting into some applications. Not so, with me. It is easy to download and it has not affected my computer at all. I can get into my programs at the same speed that I had before. I feel protected. I am glad that I renewed this. Last year I only had the Anti Virus Protection but this year I have the Kaspersky Security for Mac and I like it. Only thing that I found that I don't like is my computer has a desktop for a guest. And I wanted to apply parental controls for the guest desktop but it won't allow me to separate the two. I like that it has password protection when you are typing your passwords. That is great.
Review 11 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Denis K
Location:Franklin, WI
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

Set it and forget it. Works great.

Date:April 22, 2013
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
I'm into my second year using this anti-virus software on my iMac, and it has been trouble-free from the day I installed it. I like the frequent, automatic updates, and I feel that I am getting the best protection available. I'm a former Norton Anti-virus software user, and Kaspersky is more user-friendly and effective.
Review 12 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4
barney&bailey
Location:Irvine, CA
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Tech Savvy

Effective and unobtrusive

Date:March 30, 2013
Pros: System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
Unlike many anti-virus products, Kaspersky Security does not slow my system down. It works unobtrusively in the background. Of course, Macs do not get a lot of virus attacks, so sometimes one wonders if it is working. You'll find out quickly that it is if you plug in a memory stick from a friend that is infected. When this happened to me, Kaspersky immediately detected the virus, alerted me, and removed it.
Review 13 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Salo
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Tech Savvy
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

The best protection for Mac

Date:January 15, 2013
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Rescue disk, Virus detection, User interface, Parental controls
I totally recommend Kaspersky Security for Mac. It has a great looking UI, it is easy to use, file scans are as easy as click and drag. It is always downloading the latest virus definitions and databases.
Review 14 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Anonymous
Location:South Hamilton, MA
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Better than before

Date:January 15, 2013
Pros: System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
Cons: Installation
Kaspersky's 2013 Security Protection software is even better than previous versions. It's seamless, in that it downloads the latest updates without interfering with what you are working on. Suddenly, a message pops up that says "Your computer is now up to date in virus protection." So far Kaspersky has found infiltrating viruses and neutralized them without any hassles. The consensuses is that Kaspersky virus protection is better than other brands. I don't know if that is completely true or not, but I do believe that the program is just as good, and I feel confident that my computer and my wife's computer are well protected.
Review 15 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3
Protection: 
3 out of 5
3
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3
Irish173
Location:Toronto, On
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

Protection Slows system down

Date:January 11, 2013
Pros: Value for cost, Rescue disk, Virus detection, User interface
Cons: Scan speed
it continually displays an error loading message every time the laptop is turned on. It prevents access to such common domains as hotmail unless you type in a saved access URL. It is cumbersome to have to identify URLs that we can access and this is without the parental blocker on. I tried this for the first time on my Mac Pro even though I believe it wasn't necessary (partner wanted it) and now I use it selectively or infrequently. Still not convinced it was worth the investment. That said I have had Kaspersky products on my PC and still believe their product is one of the best for that platform. Just harder to convince ref the Mac.
Review 16 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1
Protection: 
1 out of 5
1
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1
Ease of Use: 
1 out of 5
1
rafapercall
Location:Florida
Time Used:More than 3 Years
Computer Experience:Newbie
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?Yes

internet goes very slow

Date:January 9, 2013
Pros: Virus detection
Cons: Price, Scan speed, Spam protection, Installation
in my opinion, kaspersky antivirus install on windows systems is the best antivirus pc protection in market, but kaspersky mac is a not good option, your mac seems working slow, your internet navigation goes very slow, to many alerts on screen, in general,, mac system dont need antivirus for now.
Review 17 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Fritzy
Location:Laurel,MD
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Excellent Program

Date:January 4, 2013
Pros: Feature set, System performance, Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface, Parental controls
Cons: Price
Ive tried several different protections and still managed to get virus's and etc. With Kaspersky security for mac Ive had only one small issue and it was caught fast and taken care of in seconds.Its very user friendly and renewal is very easy. Customer support could use some more trainning especially concerning renewals. I was told if you renew early you loose your old exp.date this is not true. I downloaded the mac security on my imac put in the code to activate and Kaspersky kept my old experation date and auto updated the new expiration when the old expired. I highly recommend this program for mac users.Im going on my second year and this time I took out the two year protection thats how happy I am with this program. Love the key board feature that lets you type in your password for extra security.
Review 18 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1
Ease of Use: 
1 out of 5
1
MAC-USER
Location:Florida
Time Used:1-3 Years
Computer Experience:Proficient User

Kaspersky for Mac

Date:December 31, 2012
Pros: User interface
Cons: Scan speed, Installation
I have used Kaspersky for Windows (workstations and servers) and it is a great product, however, when it comes to Mac, it just locked my laptop and every query or opening attached (safe) pictures on the Internet never opened. I ended up deactivating it to be able to reuse my laptop. It might be my settings, but I've got tired of waiting 15 minutes to be able to do anything with my laptop...
Review 19 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5
Protection: 
5 out of 5
5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Eileen
Location:Merchantville, NJ
Time Used:1-12 Months
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Slow internet

Date:December 30, 2012
Pros: Value for cost, Virus detection, User interface
When I first installed Kaspersky on my mac book, the internet was S L O W!! I emailed the company, received a response quickly and they solved my problem!! Now it's smooth sailing!!
Review 20 for Kaspersky Anti-Virus for Mac
This review is fromKaspersky Security for Mac.
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2
Protection: 
3 out of 5
3
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5
Tintin1947
Location:New Albany, IN
Time Used:Less than 1 Month
Computer Experience:Proficient User
Operating System:Mac OS X
Did you participate in a trial before buying?No

Slowed Facebook to a crawl.

Date:December 30, 2012
Pros: User interface
I uninstalled Kaspersky because it slowed Facebook response to almost nil. It didn't seem to affect the speed of other applications.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next»